The Thing (2011)

“So, I’m gonna die because I floss?”

I am a huge fan of the original 1982 “The Thing”, and when I heard of a remake, I knew it could go either way. There were a few differences between the new and the old (The Americans were living with the Norwegians as opposed to them being in separate camps etc…), but for the most part, things (no pun intended) played out in the same order; discovery in the ice goes completely south (Antarctica pun, completely intended), Dogs die (and we cry), fire cures all, and the person you think is infected never is (well my wife always guesses right and ruins the movie for me).

All around, I personally enjoyed this film. The original is better, and must be seen first, but what this film lacks in CGI effects that are the same quality as a SciFi original movie (but not as bad as “Sharknado”), it makes up for it with some pretty decent acting by Mary Winstead and Joel Edgerton. I give this movie 4 stars.

Spoiler Alert: you get to see the inside of the alien spacecraft, something that did not happen in the original version, which is tight.

Link to trailer:

 

Leave a Reply

